Click them keys and Google me…

I was really surprised that when I checked my blog stats, one of the search engine terms used to get to this blog was my name (the other term was “use fuliguline in a sentence”). So, out of curiousity, I went to Google and put my name in. I figured I’d find a few things there –perhaps my twitter link or my LinkedIn profile. But, I was really surprised to find at least five pages on Google with my name somewhere in it. And for the most part, they’re all relevant to me as a writer. I even checked the images – my profile pictures and even my book cover (the one with the pen name) is there. This is very good.

It also made me grateful that I’ve always been careful about what I posted on Facebook and Twitter. I know this information can be accessed by anyone. Saying the wrong thing or posting the wrong picture can be really damaging. Participating in social networking without a filter can kill your dream before it’s even begun. My question is: have you ever Googled yourself? If so, did you like what you found? I’m glad to report that my “internet rep” is positively intact, and I’m striving to keep it that way.

So, not only can you tweet me, fan me, follow me, friend me, you can now find me on Google and even Bing. I’m (almost) famous! I’m already an “award-winning” blogger (lol)…If someone writes up a Wikipedia page on me, then I’ll know I made it.

Excuse me while I go two-step to Kim Zolciak’s “Google Me” 😉

6 comments

  1. Every now and again I google myself and a bit more rarely I go through and delete really tweets I am embarrassed about in hindsight. Taking a deep breath before you post/tweet is very helpful. Nice one about google 🙂

    Like

  2. that’s awesome. I googled myself earlier and was irritated to find my old twitter and myspaces names. It’s not that I ever put anything bad or inappropriate up. (I’m too much of a goody-goody for that.) But now that I have new names, I’d like to stay in the present. >.<

    Like

  3. Haven’t looked for awhile so just did – good to see my first two e-books are showing up now in various stores not just smashwords and that the print copies are being shown – both blogs are connecting well – very pleasing

    Like

Leave a Reply

