Dashboards: How to manage all your profiles

Many of us are aware that in order to build an online presence we need at the very minimum Twitter, Facebook, and a Blog. However, there are a bazillion more social networking sites such as LinkedIn, Goodreads, Shelfari, Tumblr, SheWrites, Ning, and – dare I say it – MySpace (gasp!). I have profiles set up with at least five social networking websites. Just having to manage it all can be overwhelming. However, setting up a social media dashboard will aid you in managing the madness that is social networking.

There are several platforms in existence. The ones I have seen the most are HootSuite and TweetDeck. Some prefer one over the other. I use HootSuite and here a few reasons why I like it:

1. One-stop shop for all your social media profiles: HootSuite lets you set up five profiles for free. Any more than that, you’ll need to go Pro, which is a pay service. You write up one update and it will feed into all of your profiles, or just a select few.

2. Tweet scheduling: One thing these platforms offer is the ability to schedule your tweets and updates in advance. This is helpful when you want to establish that online presence, but you can’t sit in front of the computer all day tweeting and updating Facebook. I often schedule my tweets about my latest blog posts to go out throughout the day. A good friend of mine called me last week wanting to know what kind of job I had where I can sit and tweet all day because every time she checked twitter, there “I” was with a tweet.

3. Smartphone app: HootSuite has an app for BlackBerry, which is the phone I currently have. I had TweetDeck before and, unfortunately, I had to be either Team iPhone or TeamDroid in order to use their mobile app. It was the mobile version that caused me to switch from TweetDeck to HootSuite.

Those are just a few reasons why a dashboard can be of good use. Regardless of which platform you choose, it is an excellent way to handle managing your online profiles and still find time to do other things…like write.

9 comments

  1. Ha! This is helpful. I totally didn’t realize these went across the networking sites. I currently take about ten minutes in the morning to ‘spread the word’ that the new blog is up. This looks like a time saver!

    Like

  2. I need a dashboard! I need it! I can’t keep up with all this twittering and twatting and facebooking. I’m coming undone.

    Great advice. I will totally look into your suggestions. Thanks a whole bunch 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

