How “found” poetry transformed this Authoress into a Poetess…(or not)

Disclaimer: I am not a poet.

I feel that I can write a little of everything – novels, blogs, newsletter articles, and thanks to my corporate experience, white papers, business plans, brochures, and sales ideas. However, I’ve never been much of a poet and it’s my least favorite part of my creative writing class. (Sorry poets, I still got love and respect for you 🙂 )

However, my instructor introduced the class to a technique called found poetry. Basically, go to any random website – cnn.com, tmz.com, theonion.com, your local newspaper’s website – and pick a story. You then attempt to “unleash the poetry inside” the piece by removing words. You may discover something deep, funny, or just plain weird.

Another method of found poetry is to cut and paste words out of things like newspapers, magazines, and sales circulars. For this, you need to have an idea or theme first. Yes, it does look like a ransom note. Again, you may “find” a really good poem in all the cut-outs.

Below are my two “found” poems. I don’t think I’ll be publishing a collection of poetry any time soon, but I liked how they turned out. My instructor even said they “worked for her”. So, do they work for you? (It’s okay if you think they totally blow)

POEM 1:

A Star’s Challenge

Her name floating around for years
She’s not interested in the starring role
It wouldn’t offer her a challenge
A chance to escape
Play a character
Step into somebody else’s shoes

Here is the link to the original article: http://www.blackamericaweb.com/?q=articles/entertainment/movies/26523

POEM 2

2 comments

  1. What a neat idea! I’ve always been atrocious at any attempts at poetry. Your poems turned out really well! I particularly like the first one, and the thought and imagery behind the idea that the starring role wouldn’t offer a challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

