You are what you believe

The other day, I watched part one of Oprah’s Master Class that was recorded to my DVR. It was a really good episode as she discussed her childhood and the lessons she’s learned so far in life. She made one statement that really stood out to me: You are what you believe.

Call it my own little “a-ha” moment. Who else is going to believe what you are if you don’t believe it yourself? How can you convince others of a dream if you haven’t convinced yourself of it yet? How can you get support if you don’t support it yourself? I’ve had some challenges lately and had begun to question the direction I was headed in. Hearing those words put things back in perspective. You are what you believe.

If you believe you are a writer that is destined to make a full-time living putting the voices in your head (I mean the characters/stories you create) on paper, binding it together, getting it professionally edited, and then signing up with an agent for publication or proceeding with self-publishing, then that is what you are. Simple as that. This process can be daunting, exhausting, frustrating, and you have to deal with rejection (of not only the work, but possibly from others who don’t understand or don’t support your dream), writer’s block, the endless querying, rounds of revision just when you think you’re done, etc. It can be an uphill battle when it’s after midnight, you’re tired, have to work in the morning, but those last few paragraphs just don’t work and you can’t figure out why. You can lose motivation when no one else seems to care. It’s not easy. If it was, everyone would be cranking out best sellers.

The thing is, you have to hold steadfast to that dream. Regardless of the obstacles. It may take time. A long time. A really long time. However, if you know deep down what your purpose is and truly believe in it, the obstacles won’t matter in the end.

You are what you believe.

3 comments

  1. Great post. I recently decided that I am going to pursue being a writer full-time and that instead of spending so much time trying to create a back-up career for my writing that I should just work hard at what I want so that I can acheive it. I tell myself every day that I’ll be successful and that my work has merit, and that makes all the difference in the world. I’m glad that you were able to be inspired. Good luck.

    ❤ Gina Blechman

    Like

Leave a Reply

