A change of plans…

© Dana Rothstein | Dreamstime Stock Photos

© Dana Rothstein | Dreamstime Stock Photos

As writers, sometimes we change gears. For the month of August, I decided to challenge myself to get out of my writing slump by completing a novella idea I had. I had my characters planned and I had a solid idea of where the story should go, and I knew the kind of feel I want to have for this particular story, but (and isn’t there always a but?)

I couldn’t get flowing. As I began to prep for this challenge, I just wasn’t feeling it. So, I went back into my story bank because damn it, something is GONNA get wrote up in August (I know that phrase was all sorts of grammatically incorrect)…and stumbled across a story that started off as a full-length novel but I shelved for a number of reasons. I had been playing with the idea of taking the first chunk of that novel and making it a novella, and taking the remainder of that story and making that the novel since I felt that I had much more to tell.

After going over my drafts, I knew I was headed down the right road, so my August writing challenge has been amended to clean up that chunk of story and make it novella-worthy. I’ve got a few more pieces to write and definitely some re-writing, but I’m feeling good about it.

As for the other idea? Who knows? It’s definitely not dead. Really, none of my ideas are ever really killed. Maybe it’ll be a novella, maybe an online thing. I’m all for the nontraditional, out-of-the-box approaches to showing my passion to the world.  I’ve also learned that I can’t be so tied down to an idea that I get stuck when it doesn’t work. Yes, a certain level of discipline is required, but flexibility is also key when it comes to being creative.

7 comments

  1. Okay, so I think we have the same brain today because I pretty much blogged about the same thing. I’m also cleaning up a novel (but I’ve been trimming down so much it will probably end up being a novella). I also know what it’s like to start working on a project only to hear that sound of screeching brakes my story gut makes when something isn’t working. I bet you that the story idea that you abandoned will show up somewhere later. They always do.

    Like

  2. I have a 50 something chapter Novel that I’ve been trying to edit for the last 3 years but haven’t gotten around to finishing b/c I keep getting distracted with new ideas lol. Definitely know your feels here, remain strong and keep working until you get something out! I look forward to reading what you share with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

