Scraaattcchh!

A few days ago, I posted a short story. Thank you to everyone that checked it out and left a comment. Now let me give some history.

I originally wrote that piece several years ago. At the time, I thought it would be part of a longer work, but I only got so far as Melanie telling her girl Tracey that she was moving, the scene where Melanie moves out and a little bit of dialogue between Melanie and the unnamed ex after she had left. So, when I decided to post my second selection for  “Saturday Morning Shorts”, I dug the piece out of my story bank, cut out the reveal to Tracey and the conversation with Melanie and her ex (as both parts were incomplete) polished it up some and put it out there for all to see…and with anything I share, I get nervous about how it’ll be received. (Because in my head, I can love something I write initially and think it’s ‘Gone with the Wind Fabulous’, but there’s that part of me that always wonders…)

However, the feedback was great. Yay, they liked it! Time to bust out the Cabbage Patch.

Just in case you need a quick tutorial…

Then one commenter asked me where the rest was because she wanted to know what happens next. Another couldn’t wait to read more.

That’s when I heard the scraaattcchh of a record suddenly stopping on the player.

Oh, shit.

I don’t have any more.

That one complete scene and the two broken bits of dialogue was literally all she wrote.

So, now what?

I’m already in the middle of a challenge on one idea that I’ve already amended.

But, I like this idea, too.

I want to be as committed to Saturday Morning Shorts as possible. It allows me to reach into the Archives and share tidbits of my writing. It also stretches me in the flash fiction and short story areas because I’m more of a Novelista. So, maybe I’ve got an ongoing, story in progress budding? Maybe once I get through this personal challenge, I can consider putting some more effort on Melanie’s story? I don’t know right now, but I’ve got some things to think about.

However, to everyone that read “Get Your Life” and enjoyed it, thanks! You all sure know how to make a creative soul like me feel good and encouraged.

8 comments

  1. I nominated you for a shine award. Just follow the link to see how to accept your award. Keep on shining, Peace and Blessings

    Like

  2. I find it helpful to keep several different stories going simultaneously, I don’t get writer’s black too often because I’m always writing on different things…I think it’s great you have two things to work on. Keep up the good work

    Like

Leave a Reply

