When writers have an idea…

…the outcome could be epic. Either an epic success or a epic, major, fail.

As I recommit to my writing, I want to be open to the many avenues of getting my work out there, and the one idea I’ve been playing with is the “story in progress”.

I’ve already started with two posts on a young woman named Melanie. So far, she’s pulled off a secret moveout from her live-in boyfriend while he was at work and relocated from Chicago to Philadelphia. The only people (so far) who know this are her sister Heather and her friend Tracey. I mentioned before that the scene where Melanie moves out was an old idea I had from years ago that I resurrected. Since I messed around and brought it back, I’ve got new ideas and scenes to go along with it.  While I’m excited to move forward, just how will I do it is now the question.

Writers putting their work out for free is not a new concept, so I won’t pretend that it is (Kind of like retailers promoting layaway like it’s an innovative idea that hasn’t ever been done). A good amount of books on my Kindle were F-R-E-E. (And for the most part, I have been pleased with the stories.) However, I am only aware of a few writers who take on the story in progress concept. One author, in particular, will only go so far with this before finishing the story offline and publishing the finished product in e-book format.

I recall seeing on a blog years ago that posting your work on your blog was a major no-no, especially if you want to become published. If the work you just posted was the work you wanted to take to a publisher, then too bad so sad, because now you’ve published your work via your blog and no agent or publisher will touch it with a hundred foot pole, unless said work was above and beyond kick-ass extraordinary.

This is my thing, though. I’m not very interested in going the traditional route. So, the story in progress should be a viable option for me, right?

And of course, there’s the whole money issue. Who wouldn’t want to get paid? Someone is bound to ask, how are you going to make money if you’re putting it on your blog? So the question now becomes, what’s more important – getting paid or sharing the gift of a (hopefully) good story? Is it the love of the craft or the love of maybe getting a couple of dollars for it?

However, there’s a bright side to this idea. It can help to establish an audience. What better way to let potential readers know your work and your style? So, when a novel is published, ideally, there should be a following. I’ll be straight, when it comes to fiction, I have found it hard to build a platform that doesn’t include some of your work unless your genre is something like sci-fi or historical romance. In that case, there are many things you can blog about that can establish you as an expert. As for me? I’m a little bit chick-lit, a little bit dramatic, a little bit comedic, a little of this, a little of that…so I’m feeling more and more that outside of sharing my experiences as a writer, my platform is my work. And maybe the story of a girl who left her no-good boyfriend with all 1100 square feet of the space he asked for and moved to the other side of the country in pursuit of a dream is just what I need to share in order to live out my own.

2 comments

  1. I think you have to do what works for you, and if posting pieces of your story helps you get the novel written (or is what you want your blog to be), that’s great. You could always work on the project offline and then blog about your process and certain difficulties you face during certain phases of the project. I think that no matter how you do it, the most important thing is getting the novel(s) finished. And if you need to blog parts of it to do that, I say do it:)

    Like

  2. Thanks! Honestly, I never quite looked at it that way – using posting pieces as a means to motivate me to keep going…I will say that I do have a tangible goal to shoot for on a regular basis, whether I decide to post it or not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

