Do Not Answer

My apologies once again for the delay in this weekend’s short…I’m actually on a mini-vacation and Friday and Saturday were travelling days as I went to visit family and friends. Since it’s Labor Day and mostly everyone is not working, I will consider today part of the weekend still 🙂  I wish you all a happy Labor Day and enjoy!

 *****

Talking to Heather was exactly what I needed. So, when the phone rang and the Caller ID notified me that it was my now ex, I decided to go ahead and answer. Nothing he could say would bring me down; I’d already accomplished the first two steps of my Takeback plan – get the hell out his apartment and out of Chicago.

“Oh, I see you’re finally answering the phone.” He said. I could hear his voice dripping with emotions that were not even close to positive.

“I don’t like your tone,” I replied.

“I don’t like how you moved all my stuff out of here.”

“Let’s get this straight. Everything that actually belonged to you is still there. I took all of my things with me.”

‘So, I’m just supposed to sit and eat on the floor? I mean, I don’t understand how you could leave me with nothing. You knew I got rid of all of my things.”

“Did you seriously think you were going to toss me on the street and be able to keep all my furniture? You’ve definitely got it twisted. You make enough money to replace all that stuff tomorrow, if you haven’t already.”

The line fell silent. I knew he was using typical Russell tactics to get his way and I’ve accepted one too many of his tickets to take a guilt trip.

Not today.

I’m over it.

“And where are you anyway? You’re not with Tracey.”

“It’s no longer your concern.”

Melanie,” he said. “Let’s just talk about this for a minute.”

“There’s nothing else to say, Russ,” I shot back. “You said you wanted space, that you were dealing with too much, that you didn’t have time for me, not the other way around. So, why are you surprised I’m gone? I’ll be damned if I’m going to beg for you. So, enjoy your space and your pallet on that hard-ass floor. Good-bye.”

I hung up and took a deep breath.

I scrolled through my apps until I landed on the custom ringtone maker. I linked all of Russell’s numbers to a new announcement. As soon as I was prompted, I said into the speaker, “Whatever you do, Mel, do not, I repeat, do not effing answer this call.”

 © 2013 — Dahlia Savage

One comment

  1. Ha! So I’m waiting for the scene where she meets someone knew, and then Russell shows up swearing that he’s changed and she’s torn between her past and her future. The image of him eating on the floor is hilarious. I can totally see it. Oh, Melanie. What are you going to do next???

    Like

Leave a Reply

