Forget me nots

So, what's so special about the name of your room attendant?

So, what’s so special about the name of my room attendant?

I’m currently at a conference related to my day job and this is the name of the attendant who prepped my room. When I saw it, I just had to take a picture of it. Why is this name so significant? Elisa is the name of my main character from the novella I’m currently in the editing phase for.

I’ve had my edits back for a few weeks now, but haven’t finished my revisions. I could say I’ve been slammed with work (true) I could say I’ve been a little stressed with school (also true) I could even go on about how sick I’ve been as of late (also true, last week I came down with a “respiratory viral illness” – I’d rather call it a really bad cold – that was so bad, I had to take a few days off work. I’m still not at 100% but recovered enough to travel) But let me be transparent, I just haven’t made it a priority.

Seeing my MC’s name on that card was a sign to carry on with this process.  I then proceeded to spend my first night in the hotel doing a bunch of nothing until I fell asleep. The next morning, I’m sitting in a session and the speaker asks us to turn to the person next to us. I turn to the woman who is sitting beside me and I’ll give you one guess as to what her name was…Yes! Gold star if you said Elisa. And she was sending me Forget Me Nots.

Seeing that name the second time was not a sign, but a reminder to not forget about her and her story, or put it off to the point where my progress comes to a dead stop. In other words, seeing her name two days in a row was like saying, “You’re slacking and I need you to quit this kind of behavior that hindered your writing progress”.

I hear you. And thanks for the reminder.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

