On to the next phase…

It took me a little over a month, but I am FINALLY finished editing the novella…so now what? Cover art time! I’m excited to be done with this leg of the journey but I’ll admit I’m being careful. Part of my issue is that I tend to get too ahead of myself and thus become overwhelmed in all the details. However, I know at some point, I’ll have to think a little ahead…but I’m trying to pace just how far I go in thinking ahead. Here are some of the questions that swirl around in this vividly twisted mind of mine:

  • How exactly and when do I want to get some buzz going?
  • Where am I going to find the time to tweet about this?
  • Do I even have a release date in mind (Something ideally before December 31, 2080)?
  • What price do I want to set?
  • When do I finally let people in on this operation?

So, for this post, I’m reaching out to my fellow writers that have published or are really really close to hitting that “publish” button…how did y’all do it? Get through this process without going bat-shit crazy? Or did you go bat-shit crazy?

2 comments

  1. How exactly and when do I want to get some buzz going? Yesterday. But if you can’t get it done yesterday, don’t stress. The important thing is the book. Marketing is a whole nother animal.
    Where am I going to find the time to tweet about this? Don’t stress about this either. Do what you can for now. Eventually, once you go on your blog tours, people will be doing that for you.
    Do I even have a release date in mind (Something ideally before December 31, 2080)? Keep your reviewers in mind with this. Most need at least a 3 month lead time.
    What price do I want to set? Not free99, lol. Check comparable books and see what they’re going for.
    When do I finally let people in on this operation? Now, or once your FB author page is up. Now take a deep breath and remember; you have another book to write. Your readers will be expecting it:)

    Like

    1. Chiillle? The next book? What??!!
      Just kidding, I’m already thinking about that.
      Thanks for the tips…I know that I will have to dedicate some time into planning. I tend to take in a lot of information and process it all at once. The downside is that sometimes my mind wanders in the processing (just ask my study group), but I’m getting better at getting back on task 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

