DEAR Time

I recently joined a readers group on Facebook. It’s an author free zone, meaning no promo, be it shameless or not, is allowed. I’ll say it’s refreshing to network with a group of people just because we enjoy reading. One of the posts was a challenge for each of us to have a daily DEAR time…drop everything and read. Just 15 minutes a day.

My winter break from class is nearly over and I’ve spent it prepping for the release of my book. I managed to get a little reading in, and let me tell you, once I get into a really good book, I go all in. And because I do go all in, reading for fun is a challenge when I’m in school.

However, I think we all know that in order to write better, we need to read. So, I’m accepting the 15 minute DEAR challenge posed in the FB group. I know there is some time-suck activity that I can do less of in order to squeeze in 15 minutes of something that I enjoy doing and will help me to grow.

2014 for me, is about being more structured. In order to juggle this wife/mom/full-time-job/student/writer thing, I have to be.

So, what are you doing to read more? Is finding time to read a challenge for you? Furthermore, what are you doing in order to have or maintain balance and structure in finding time to read in your busy life?

8 comments

  1. Kudos to you for trying to be more structured this year. Reading is a real challenge for me because I daydream so much while reading. No matter how much I try my mind just wanders, lol. After I finished school I was so burned out I only read one book a year for fun. Last year I read four. I probably won’t get back to the book a day habit I had before I started writing, but hopefully I’ll get to a place where I’m reading more without wandering so much.

    Like

  2. Finding time to read isn’t a challenge for me, but I sacrifice sleep at night laying in the bed with my tablet. Once I get REALLY into a book, I won’t stop until it’s done, which means being up until 3-4am sometimes. I know I can’t do that while I’m in school, so I’m going to try to limit myself to an hour a day, maybe two, as long as I get it in before 11pm, if I can do it at all with my class load.
    I find that scheduling my time works really, really well for me, but I have a hard time sticking to the schedule. The first time something comes along and throws me off, the schedule is out the window, which I know isn’t good. I’m going to try to stick with one this semester though.

    Like

    1. I’m finding myself in a place that in order to meet my goals, I’ll have to schedule my time. I know it’ll be a challenge b/c its hard for me to stop reading a really good story, but I know I need to practice more discipline so I don’t get overwhelmed.

      Like

  3. did my comment go through? I think WP ate it..

    I said something like only you can answer the question. Sometimes a break does wonders for a difficult manuscript, but it depends on how tightly it has you gripped.

    Like

Leave a Reply

