A Writing Process Blog Tour

Blog tours and blog hops are fun things to participate in. They allow you to showcase your work and creativity or allow the reader to get to know you a little better. For this tour, A Writing Process Blog Tour, I was tagged by the awesome Christina Jones, who has recently released her third novel, The Trouble With Love. To see Christina’s post for this tour, click here.

So, here we go…my writing process:

What am I working on?

GDcover  Tomorrow, my short story, Graduation Day will be available on Amazon. The next       thing I plan on working on is the follow-up to Graduation Day. I’m still working on a     title, but I’ve got a few in mind.

Graduation Day marks the beginning of the journey for Kendall Riley, who is a new     college graduate and fresh off a long-term relationship. The follow-up story will pick    up  a few months after she graduates from school, navigating through her single    status  and learning the highs and lows of dating and relationships.

 

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My editor believes that my work falls into a new genre, “Independent Women’s Chick-Lit”. I have to agree with her – all of my lead characters are strong, yet flawed, women in their own right who are willing and able to stand on their own. Additionally, my focus is on the relationships between these women and their lovers, loved ones, friends, and themselves.

Why do I write what I do?

I’ve always loved reading, and therefore writing, about relationships. My favorite stories have had some type of relationship at the center and those relationships (friends, family, love, self) are easy to relate to.

How does your writing process work?

I’m a pantser at heart. I write it as it comes to me, and sometimes it’s not always at the beginning! However, I have learned to be a bit more structured with my writing, even if its just writing a broad overview of the story or even just knowing what I want my end goal to be.

Time to tag

I would like to tag another amazing author to share in her writing process. Quanie Miller is the author of the romantic comedy, It Ain’t Easy Being Jazzy and the forthcoming speculative novel, The New Mrs. Collins

Quanie…Tag, you’re it 🙂

3 comments

Leave a Reply

