Happy Pub Day: Graduation Day

GDcover

 

Who publishes a story on April Fool’s Day? I do 🙂

Graduation Day, my latest short story about a newly single college graduate, was released today. The three characters in this story, MC Kendall and her support system of cousin Reese and roommate Ameenah, were created not too long after my own college graduation, when the urge to start writing again came back to me with a vengeance. So needless to say, all three ladies, are dear to me. I hope you enjoy the beginning of Kendall’s journey as much as I enjoyed writing it. The story is available over on Amazon and below is a little teaser.

*****

“Girl,” Ameenah says with a roll of her eyes, “if you look at that phone one more time, I’m throwing it in the toilet.”

I close the cell phone and stare at it for a few more seconds. Finally, I push it away and begin to tap my fingers on the wooden desk. “He’s not going to call,” I say quietly, almost to myself. As soon as the words are out of my mouth, I can feel my eyes well up with water.

“Unh-uh, hell no,” she says, coming over to me. “Not this crying shit again. Today is a good day. You can cry, but it’d better be because you’re graduating and not over that joker.”

I look up at her, her honey-hued face a mix of concern and annoyance. I’m driving her crazy, crying yet again over a break-up that happened eight weeks ago. Hell, I’m driving myself crazy.

“I know. You’re right,” I tell her.

“Damn right I am,” she replies. “Now, come on, chica, and finish getting ready. We have to be out of here soon.” She grabs my cell phone from the desk and says, “And I will hold on to this in the meantime.” She walks out of my dorm room, my phone in her hand, closing the door behind her. She’s right. Today is a good day. No, it’s a great day. Today, I transition from student to college graduate. Depressed is the last thing I should be.

But I can’t help it. I know it’s been two months. I know it’s over. But my mind is still muddled with the “whys”, “what-ifs”, and “how-the-hell-could-hes”. Even though the lining of my stomach burns almost every day, I try to push past it all, adjust to being in a headspace where he doesn’t exist. Still, my logic and my emotions – feelings that oscillate between love gone wrong and low-down, dirty, rotten bastard – go to battle every day.

And this morning, emotions appear to be winning. The lingering whispers deep in my spirit say maybe today he’ll call. Because he knows what today is. So before Ameenah took my cell phone, I was checking it, flipping through the call log, and checking my voicemail, despite the fact that there was no voicemail chime or symbol. I’d adjusted the volume repeatedly, making sure I hadn’t accidentally put it on mute. My mind knows that I’m acting crazy, excessive, borderline-possessive, but I can’t ignore the murmurs within. The hope that on my graduation day, the biggest, most important day of my life, he’ll come around.

(c) 2014 Dahlia Savage

*****

So, if you’re interested in a quick read, head on over to Amazon and check it out. Graduation Day

One comment

Leave a Reply

