It’s free…

When Graduation Day was released this past Tuesday, I set the price over on Amazon to $0.99, which is the lowest price I could set it. Still, I didn’t feel right selling a story that was so short, like you could read it in about 20 minutes tops. I wanted it to be free, introduce the reader to my style and uniqueness. So, what’s a girl to do?

Return to Smashwords and release it there, of course! Smashwords will permit me to make the story free. What’s even better was that the story was accepted into their Premium Catalog pretty quickly, so it should be available at other retailers like BN.com in the forthcoming weeks at no charge.

Since going over to Smashwords and releasing the story there on April 3, Graduation Day has been downloaded 98 times. That’s 98 potential fans. I included an excerpt from Indiscretion as well, so now that potential fan has another story that she (or he) can read (hopefully immediately) after finishing.

Here is the link to download Graduation Day.

I hope you enjoy it and please feel free to leave your feedback either here or over on Goodreads.

5 comments

  1. Pricing is such a big issue so I’m glad you feel good about your decision to release the book for free! I will be downloading your book because I would love to become a fan of yours!

    Do you have a longer title in the works?

    Good luck with your sales!

    Like

      1. It releases on the 10th but so far I’m seeing a lot of support. This was a long time coming for me so people have been tapping their feet waiting. lol.

        The idea to put out a short release first for free is great, actually, because it will serve as kind of a resume for you. Like you said, to get fans and attention. That’s kinda why I started with a Novella. I can’t shut up so it couldn’t have been a short story. lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

