#IWSG: Trusting the process — Staying positive with your writing when it feels like it’s going nowhere.

Yes, it’s time again for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group: a monthly blog hop of writers at various stages of the process who get  transparent and talk about the struggle…writing, publishing, editing, getting motivated, etc. We’re here to encourage and support each other. For more info, click here. The fabulous hosts for this month are: Elizabeth Seckman, Lisa Buie-Collard, Chrys Fey, and Michelle Wallace!

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

So, this is one post that’s a little random but not really, because it’s also writing-related. I recently finished school and am in the process of sitting for a board exam in order to become official. I have cohorts that have already taken and passed this exam and have received job offers. I’m still waiting on authorization to schedule the exam.

So, while they’re all:

I’m all:

source: tumblr.com

source: tumblr.com

Okay, not really…but maybe just a little bit. And it’s not because I don’t wish them well. I do. It’s just sometimes…

source: photobucket.com

source: photobucket.com

On the writing side, I’ve talked about getting stuck with a WITDLOAP (work-in-too-damn-long-of-a-process), while I have writing friends who have written, not one, but two, maybe even more novels in the same time span. I know, I know…you only set yourself up for failure when you make comparisons, and I often have to tell myself: Trust the timing. Trust the process. When it’s your time, it’s your time. Be patient. Keep working at it.

I inherently understand that comparisons are tricks of the devil, but every now and again, I get caught out there. (‘Like for real, you gave the job to the girl who forgot her professional work ready pumps and did the interview in blue snakeskin iridescent club hopping, street walking knee boots but couldn’t even send me a ‘thanks but no thanks letter’? Yeah, that’s a true story. Happened to me many years ago.) What can I say? I’m human and the side eye, no chill reaction is real.

porchia_sideeye

Source: tumblr.com

So, what’s a writer (or a recent graduate) to do when it seems like everyone around you is moving at a warp speed and you’re moving like that slug in ‘Flushed Away’?

Source: tumblr.com

Source: tumblr.com

  • Yes, it’s a total cliche, but a positive attitude goes far. Attitude can make the difference in feeling like you’re moving like a slug and actually moving like a slug. I had one classmate who spoke so negatively throughout the entire program, I was not surprised that when we graduated, homegirl was ghost. Say an affirmation. Meditate. Believe that you are indeed the best romance/drama/dystopian/chick-lit/fantasy/horror/(fill in your genre) writer…like EVAH.
  • Get a cheerleader (or several) on your team. Because sometimes, you need to rant, cry, cuss, and scream (sometimes all at the same time). Your cheerleaders remind you that you are effin’ awesome and that all things will come together in due time.
  • Be a cheerleader yourself. This is twofold. Because you have to pat yourself on the back sometimes AND when you encourage others when they have their “I can’t believe they hired the bitch wearing the hooker boots” moments, they will do it for you.

So, trust in the process. Don’t try to force that story for sake of being published or even being finished. Trust in the timing. Yes, he may say he sold a gazillion books in a month and your sales report barely has a rhythm (maybe it flatlined), but it doesn’t make you any less kick-ass at your craft. (Besides, he may be manipulating the data).

Again, trust the process. Trust the timing. Stay true to your craft.

Source: funnyjunk.com

3 comments

  1. I’m laughing like a fool at work because of the gifs….love’em! And I’ve been guilty of giving in to the temptation to compare myself to other writers here lately. Like you said, I’m happy to see others doing great, but I can’t help but to wonder why I can’t release 4-5 books a year? I’ve been working on the same one FOREVER and I wonder when it will finally be published! But then I remind myself that it’s all a process. Most of those writers have been in the game for a minute. They have a formula/process/voice that works for them and they’ve hit their niche. Someday, I’ll be there too, but in the in meantime I have to put in the work and keep learning! Thanks for the laughs and this timely post.

    P.S. I know they DIDN’T give the job to the chick in hooker shoes???? The nerve!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly…we’ve gotta keep working on it! It is definitely a process.

      …and yes, they did hire that girl! I was working the side-eye before the term even existed when I found out. 🙂

      Like

  2. Love that “Who’s awesome?” photo in the end. I get the same feeling too when I hear an author published 2+ books in a year. Granted I do have one, but still they have me beat by 1+. But I can’t let that get to me. Even though I’m proud for them too. In such times when you feel life, your writing and book sales are just slugging along, you have to be your own cheerleader sometimes. And keep working on your story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

